Rosemary Swordfish Over Saffron Couscous

Hey everyone! I can’t begin to apologize for my absence, but I can say that this has been the most stressful semester of my life, and I’m not even a damn student. I’ve been working on a few professional blog posts about all that, so I’ll save my thoughts on work for those posts. Anywho, I haven’t even been cooking that much this semester, and for anyone who knows me, you know that that’s not my style. The kitchen is my happy place, and it’s instead felt burdensome this semester, and I’ve cooked the same 3 or 4 things with little variation. In the last few weeks, I’ve decided to take my joy back, and get my tush back to cooking new things, so here we are.

Rosemary Swordfish Over Saffron Couscous

Ingredients

  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1 swordfish steak (mine was 6.5 ounces)
  • couscous, cooked per package instructions
  • 1/8 teaspoon saffron

Instructions

1. Take the first 6 ingredients and add to a Ziploc bag. Mix together, taste, and adjust as needed. Add the swordfish filet and allow to marinate under refrigeration for an hour. image1

2. Preheat your oven’s broiler and make sure your oven rack is in the middle.

3. Cook couscous per the instructions on the box (I like Trader Joe’s whole wheat couscous). When adding the couscous to the water, add the saffron. Let stand and fluff per the instructions.

image2

4. Place swordfish steak on a baking sheet and put under broiler for 4 minutes. Remove pan, flip steak, and return to oven for another 3.5-4 minutes.

5. Serve over couscous and vegetable of your choice.

image3

Afterthoughts

Turn Up the Heat

I think I’ve said this before, but as I’ve lost weight, I’ve gained a great appreciation for spicy food. I thought a few red pepper flakes would be enough, but in the future, I’d use more.

Broiler vs. Grill

So because of where I live, I don’t have a grill. In its place, I used the broiler. If you have the option of using a grill, by all means, do that. This was good, but it’s nice out and the broiler made my apartment hella hot, so cooking outside would’ve been perfect.

Get Saucy

…And not in the drunk sense (though this dish would be great with some white wine or a wheat beer). I didn’t serve this with a sauce, but the leftover marinade would’ve been great. You could cook it down and add some butter and add over the fish at the end.

Weight Watchers Points: 13 (I had a whole cup of cooked couscous, which was a lot. If you cut it down to 1/2 cup, it would only be 11 points. You could also make the steak two servings).

Leave a Reply

