Mahi Mahi Over Pasta in a Clam and Lemon Butter Sauce

Hey all! I’ve been gone for a while. We’re down a player at work, so life’s been a bit hectic. I am happy to report I’m still having great success with Weight Watchers and am a mere .6 pounds away from being 30 pounds down since November! I’ve joined a new gym and recently decided to give up meat for Lent as an additional challenge. With all that being said, I am cooking lots of seafood lately, and I want to make sure I’m sharing recipes here. When I signed up for a cooking class my senior year of undergrad (hey, I had some credits to kill), what I wanted to learn most was how to cook seafood, and Chef Collins didn’t disappoint. Below is a super easy recipe to get you started if seafood isn’t your forte.

Mahi Mahi Over Pasta in a Clam and Lemon Butter Sauce

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces dry pasta (I used angel hair)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Mahi Mahi filet, approximately 5 ounces
  • 2-3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 6.5 ounce can clams, with liquid
  • 1 tablespoon dry parsley
  • 1 tablespoon dry basil
  • Pinch of salt
  • red pepper flakes

Instructions

  1. Bring a medium-sized pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. When water is boiling, add pasta and cook for recommended amount of time on box (for angel hair, It’s 3.5 minutes). Drain and let sit in sink.

    Mis En Place
    Mise En Place
  2. Melt butter in small saute pan over medium-high heat. After butter melts, add shallots and garlic until browned (a bit too much in this photo), 2 minutes tops.

    Browned Shallots and Garlic
    Browned shallots and garlic
  3. Add your Mahi Mahi filet to the pan. Allow to cook for about a minute, then add the lemon juice. Let cook for a minute longer, flip the filet, then add the clams and liquid to pan. Stir in parsley, basil, and salt.
    Mahi Mahi in lemon juice, shallots, garlic, and butter.
    Mahi Mahi in lemon juice, shallots, garlic, and butter.

    Mahi Mahi, flipped, with clams and herbs.
    Mahi Mahi, flipped, with clams and herbs.
  4. When fish’s internal temperature measures at least 140 degrees, remove from sauce. Taste the sauce; add more herbs if necessary. Transfer pasta to a bowl and add the sauce. Top with some red pepper flakes (the more you add, the spicier it will be), and the Mahi Mahi filet.

    Finished product
    Finished product

Afterthoughts

Lighten It Up

I’ve gotten into this habit of not eating much during the day and having a big dinner. Whether it’s good or not, it means I have lots of points left at the end of the day, so I can afford to have a bigger dinner. if you can’t, there are a few ways to lighten up this dish. You could use less (or no) clams. Instead of butter, you could use olive oil. You could also have less (or no) pasta. I am a sucker for carbs, but even as I was eating it, I was thinking this could be really good over some veggies, which would dramatically cut the number of points.

Variations

I only bought the Mahi Mahi because it was on sale at the store, but I find that I quite like it. It’s low in points but has a substantial mouth feel. I dislike tilapia on all fronts, but you could easily use any kind of whitefish in the recipe. I wouldn’t recommend something like salmon unless you really like it because it could be overwhelmingly fishy with the clams.

Weight Watchers Points: 13

Leave a Reply

