I’m a Regular Positive Patty Over Here…

So as many of you know, I recently moved back to Texas after a 7 week internship in South Carolina. I would be lying if I said I was coming back with bells on. To be honest, I was kinda worried about coming back. My experience last year was okay, but it wasn’t fantastic, and I was worried I’d come back to the exact same vibe that I left. Well, ladies and gentlemen, let me say this: A LOT CHANGES IN 7 WEEKS!

Oh gosh, I feel like I’ve come back to a completely different department (and I mean this is a good way). Our communication seems  so much better and there’s just an overall feeling of organization that my Type A-self is relishing in. In a week’s time, we’ve done some really cool training sessions and I’ve been learning new things already.

Now of course, you can’t completely change a game when you’ve got some of the same players, but having those same players isn’t always a bad thing. We’ve got a great bunch of new staff here who are bringing a lot of fun to the mix, and they’re making me really look forward to the coming year. 

Some of you who read this blog regularly are probably like, “Sweet Lord, someone stole Mairead’s computer because this is NOT her regular smarmy ass blog post.” Not to fear, my friends…my inner jackass is alive and well! I’ve just found that while there are always going to be people who don’t find me funny (I know, I know…I don’t get it either!), I can still sit back and laugh and crack a smile. When I arrived back to TTU after my internship, I saw our director around the office and was telling her about my summer and how I was feeling about the department. She looked at me and smiled and said, “Well, sometimes the grass isn’t always greener…it’s just new grass.” Now I’m not sure if she was referring to Texas Tech because anyone who’s been here knows that the grass is usually shit brown 9 months out of the year, but she had a point. I was so excited to get out of Texas for the summer, I’d really forgotten what brought me all the way out here a year ago. So anywho, don’t get used to this Happy-Go-Lucky Mairead; I much prefer being cynical. However, I think it’s important to note that things can change, even when we think there’s nothing about our situation that cam be improved. In fact, sometimes the first thing to change is your attitude.

(This is not to say my attitude is changing. Just want that to be crystal clear)

Leave a Reply

