Day 2: Cleveland to Louisville

To backtrack just a bit, yesterday’s total mileage was 454.5 miles. Today we totaled at 493.8 miles and (of course) had some revelations and adventures along the way.

  • First, we don’t like other drivers. Specifically, we don’t like drivers from Ohio and Pennsylvania. They’re too fast, they snake through traffic, and they apparently drive cars that completely lack blinkers, brakes, and speedometers. Obviously this is an observation made by the two best drivers to grace planet Earth.

Disclaimer: my mother and I have no problem keeping up with traffic patterns and we’re known to have a slight need for speed, so for us to make the above assessment, you know that the driving is reckless.

Disclaimer: Kentucky drivers, on the other hand, are as pleasant on the road as they are in person.

  • Second, even when we’re in the middle of East Bejesus, we can always find a country music station. As a blessed break for my mother, we were able to find NPR on our way out of Cleveland this morning, but other than that, we’ve been listening to the same cycle of roughly 25 songs. Upon hearing Dierks Bentley’s “5-1-5-0” for the 5th or 6th time around 10:45am, my mother decided she’s going to 5150 the hell out of someone before we arrive in Texas if she has to hear this song again. Needless to say, we might have to buy an audio jack for our iPods/phones before leaving Kentucky.
  • Third, Yolanda the ‘yota (my car) has successful crested 265,000 miles while still getting 31 miles to the gallon. On this note, my mother says, “I don’t know if I’m gonna miss you or this car more when I get on the plane next week.” She’s obviously gunning for Mother of Year 2012.
  • Fourth, Wheat Thins Zesty Salsa are a fabulous 11-ies snack. Big thanks to the Fadales, our neighbors, for the awesome travel snack pack choice!
  • Fifth, as a spur of the moment decision we decided to visit two Kentucky bourbon distilleries instead of just one. I mean, when in Rome, do as the Romans; when in Kentucky, drink bourbon. We missed the tour as Woodford Reserve Distillery but managed to sneak a taste and buy some goodies. Thereal gem was our trip to Maker’s Mark. We rode in on a super narrow and winding road (thathad my mother squirming in the passenger seat) and made it just in time for the last tour of the day. We saw the distillery, tasted the product at three stages of fermentation (which tasted like wet cereal, flat beer, and whort/silage), saw the bottling line and the dipping process and got to dip our own products in the gift shop. I’ve officially visited my first “holler,” and have decided that should I find me a nice Southern man in this 2 year adventure, we’re getting married at the Maker’s Mark Distillery because it’s a beautiful location.
  • Sixth, prior to this move, everyone was asking me if I was crazy to move to the south in mid-July. I justified this move by swearing up and down that it’d be dry heat and would therefore be different than the heat at home. To my friends and family at home, relish this moment: I was wrong. At 12:18pm on July 6, 2012, the car’s thermostat officially read 100°. Said thermostat never read lower than 100° after that and upon leaving Maker’s Mark around 5pm read 110° after sitting in the shade. Because of this, I recant my justification about the differences in heat. 110° is hot, whether wet or dry or anything in between, and it all makes you sweat like a pig at the butcher (enjoy that imagery). In the words of my co-pilot (aka my mother), “it’s all just a difference in cooking methods and we’re currently creeping up on poaching. Because we keep sweating, Kentucky would be a wet-heat cooking method.”

Total miles so far: 948.3

One thought on “Day 2: Cleveland to Louisville

  1. Finally found the blog and have even put it in a Favorites site. So glad it’s going well ; not surprised you found that heat —moist or dry —-is HOT when it gets over 100. Better you than me. MP

Leave a Reply

