T-minus 8 Days

It didn’t really hit me until this evening that I leave for Texas in 8 days. 8 little days. 192 hours. 11,520 minutes. You get the idea.

Anywho, I’m not one to get all mushy and sentimental about leaving places and all that jazz. I truly believe that there aren’t any goodbyes. Instead, I will leave Homer, NY, with a great big “See ya!” and the knowledge that I’ll be back someday. With that being said, the idea that I’m leaving everything I’ve ever known and been comfortable with in order to work a job and go to school in a place I’ve only visited for a total of 72 hours: phew! It’s more than a little intimidating.

Since I’m devoting this entire blog to my time in the Lonestar State, I figured I’d start today because I’m leaving soon and this trip is all about preparation. For those of you who know me, you know that my life is a rapid succession of photo finishes. For those of you who don’t know me, I’ll clear that up: I procrastinate. A lot. Staying true to form, I currently have 1/2 of my kitchen, a television, a road emergency kit, and my comforter packed. Oh and did I mention that my entire life for the next two years needs to fit into the backseat and trunk of a 2002 Toyota Camry? Yep, you read that right. We’re driving the ol’ ‘yota (“ol'” as in “her odometer reads 263,500 currently) for this trip. So yes, the bottom line here is that I leave on a life-changing journey in 8 days and am wholly unprepared.

In true procrastinator style, I just keep assuring myself that everything will get done. I mean, I can’t go without clothing and shoes, so it’ll all get packed eventually…right? On top of being a procrastinator, the other greatest hurdle to my packing is that I’m as far from type A as a person can get. I want to make lists and check things off once they’re in my bags, but if I make them, I usually lose them before I can ever successfully complete all the tasks.¬†Needless to say, I’m 8 days away from this change and have very little to show for it. Hopefully by the time I share again, I’ll be a little further into my preparing!

Leave a Reply

